top of page
  • tsquaredcrochet

What's the Stitch? The Elizabeth Stitch

It's been a while since I posted a feature stitch. It's actually been a while since I've done any kind of activity here at tsquaredcrochet.



That's been changing, especially on my instagram account since I'm most active there.



For this month's feature stitch, I decided to go for the Elizabeth Stitch. One of my closest friend's birthday is this month, and guess what? Her name is Elizabeth! I was thinking about making her a little something with this stitch.... I certainly think it will win me some brownie points! ;)





This particular stitch is a variation of the Bean Stitch. In fact, it's also called the Mini Bean Stitch. The main difference is that there are a couple less loops per stitch, making the work a little flatter, but still pleasing to the eyes.




It works up in the same manner as the Bean Stitch: you skip chain spaces, and your work criss-crosses as you go. However, instead of a starting chain in an odd number, you start a chain in a multiple of 2. I'm not sure how the count works exactly, but there are two ways to start the Elizabeth Stitch. The first method is linked in the pink photo above from CrochetandTea, and the other is below.





This method is from Dabbles and Babbles. If you need a text/photo version instead, here is the link for that. This is the video I personally learned from, because it was so easy to understand. The narrator points out an important detail that I couldn't get reading her text format.



It's so easy to do, I actually recommend you make the jump over to one of these sites to learn how to do it! I can't summarize it any easier than they can!



What can you make that would highlight the elegant Elizabeth Stitch? Well, you can make a fingerless gloves and beanie set to start... or maybe you'd want to make some cute boot cuffs instead?




And if you are reading this in the summer, where beanies and boot cuffs aren't worn so much, maybe you can showcase this stitch in a makeup bag as I plan to do!






There you have it! Another easy stitch to add to your collection. I hope you find these feature stitch posts inspiring and enlightening. :)



Until next time! Happy crocheting, friends. :)




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page