top of page
  • tsquaredcrochet

How I Showcase the Elizabeth Stitch in Summer

I love a beautiful stitch. But I usually find that the best way to showcase lovely crochet fabrics is to wear them in the form of beanies, boot cuffs, or scarves.



Then there's the cardigan, sweater, or shawl. All of which are beautiful and elegant ways to showcase a beautiful stitch.



However, what if you want to showcase your stitchwork in the summer? It's way too hot to don a beanie, and a very breezy cardigan *might* pass on a hot summer day... but more often than not you'll have to wait until the evening when the temperature cools down to even put it on.



What, then, shall you ever do?



Well, I had the same dilemma when I discovered the Elizabeth Stitch. I wanted to make something for my friend's birthday -- since her name's Elizabeth -- and I thought making something for her with this stitch was the PERFECT personal gift!



But, she's a July baby... and I hardly think a beanie would maintain the hype long enough until winter arrives.



Enter my Elizabeth Stitch experiment. If you were not aware yet, I am an aspiring crochet designer, and decided it would be more fun to share my growth with you all. In addition to showcasing the work of others, I showcase my own (improving) journey. <3



Without further ado, here's how I decided to use the Elizabeth Stitch:



The Elizabeth Stitch Makeup Bag




Check out that awesome criss-cross action. A makeup bag is simply the funnest way to showcase the Elizabeth Stitch. Imagine chatting up with your girlfriends in the bathroom when you need to touch up your face and you whip out this baby. Just make sure you whip that bag slowly and pause for compliments. ;)





As I work on my design skills, I used every possible thing in my craft haul to make my efforts shine. I found an old (but untouched) denim pencil pouch and fabric glue.




Can you start to see where I went with this? :) I basically made a pouch to cover the original pouch and glued the edges together at the zipper. It gave the pouch that extra layer of denim which I think made it look better!




It was such an easy project, and it helped me focus on perfecting the crochet fabric without worrying about how the rest of the project would hold up.






This is a great project for beginner to intermediate crocheters as well. Thanks so much all for joining me on my crochet journey. <3



Happy crocheting, friends! :)




28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page